Windows 10 enable ping and AD login

It is done similar to Windows 7. Just to save your time, in my case it didn’t work enabling some of the firewall rules:

 

  • Click Advanced Settings on the left.
  • From the left pane of the resulting window, click Inbound Rules.
  • In the right pane, find the rules titled File and Printer Sharing (Echo Request – ICMPv4-In).
  • Right-click each rule and choose Enable Rule.

 

as described in this post. I also tried in addition enabling the all the “File and Printer Sharing” rules, without luck. I write it in no just for the documentation.

I managed to get my ping by manually creating two new firewall rules, one for ICMPv4, the other for ICMPv6. You have a more detailed solution, with screen shots, on this how-to-geek post about. Why I didn’t do it using the command prompt, as suggested first on the top of the post? Let’s say, I’m reluctant to touch the command prompt in Windows. It took me quite some time to get my new Windows 10 license, and I don’t want to screw it up by mistyping on the command prompt. Or being more specific, I don’t want to screw up how my Windows 10 system speak up with my switch, since I don’t have control over it. I’m just a middle man here, with limited rights.

Now, I hook it up to our domain to allow Active Directory users to log in. And I can, but the user sign in in with a temporary profile. He or she will get this nasty message:

125754d1489936553-fix-youve-been-signed-temporary-profile-windows-10-a-we_cant_sign_into_your_account

You can fix that up following this solution. I’m not going to unless I’m asked to. I have a lot of users, and anyway the home folder is mounted if you log in, despite of the scary message. I will check if I can find an elegant way to avoid the message to pop up, once for all. Have a nice day…

Leave a comment