GLIBC_2.25 compile on CentOS 7.8

This is just a recipe. I previously had issues with GLIBC, now on my current CentOS 7.8 I can’t update it via yum anymore. This is my (simple) recipe:

wget https://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/glibc/glibc-2.25.tar.gz
tar -xvzf glibc-2.25.tar.gz
cd glibc-2.25/
mkdir build
cd build/
../configure --prefix=/opt/local/glibc-2.25/
make -j8
make install

Of course after that we need to add it to LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Like this:

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/local/glibc-2.25/lib
${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH}

That’s it. A quick note: I was compiling it to get a DL tool that didn’t work at the end, so I went on another direction. Maybe it’s time to update CentOS to CentOS 8.

4 thoughts on “GLIBC_2.25 compile on CentOS 7.8

    • Libraries should be listed (if installed or copied to the usual place) after running ‘ldconfig -p’. From the list you can ‘grep’ libraries with a similar name. Then you can soft-link it to the one you need… but careful, sometimes you can screw the OS doing things like that. Good luck, sorry I can’t help more…

      Like

Leave a comment