A Windows munin node

munin-node-running

I’m having since quite some time already (I don’t want to check the logs) a munin server running on Scientific Linux 7.2. I have like 50 Linux clients hanging on it, monitoring the CPU usage, RAM usage, and even the GPU usage with a custom plugin. It’s a fantastic tool that allows you to monitor the health of your network in a glance. Therefore when I decided to incorporate 2 more Windows servers to my network, munin for windows came to my mind as the natural monitoring tool. But Windows and Linux live apart one from the other. Of course first step is to Google the right thing. That I did.  And the first link you find that looks like the real thing is this one How To Monitor Windows.

I’m going to save you reading time. By having a look to the headers you know the information is already old (Using munin-node-win32). If you click on the download link to the GitHub repository you can clearly see that the project has not been touched since at least, 7 years. One can think that’s OK. If something works, why change it? So I get the zip ball and install it on my server, but already without so much hopes. And of course, it doesn’t work, since it looks like I need to compile it on my machine to get it to work.

What now? Funny enough, the link on munin to the Google Code page is directing you to munin nude win32, not to munin node. Back to square one, looking for some binaries I step over this thread and end up reaching this google code archive. I download the munin-node-win32-1.6.0.0-installer.exe. After running the installer, I end up with a nice folder on Program Files (x86) called Munin Node for Windows. So far so good. So I add the Windows machine to the list of clients of my munin-server, and start munin-node.exe. munin-node-explorer

Now we need to wait, at least 15 minutes, until the Windows machine plots appears on my munin server. If you’re impatient, you can check if there is a service running by starting the Windows task manager (see first picture) or check the munin server logs (in my case by tail /var/log/munin/munin-update.log).

I go to take a coffee and socialize a little and when I’m back, there I have them. My Windows munin plots. Am I happy? Not at all. It looks like despite it works, the plots are all looking empty, or not showing the thing in the same format I have my Linux clients. The colors are wrong, or the plots are not useful for me.

Next stop, Windows munin-node configuration. We’ll see how far we go.

About bitsanddragons

A traveller, an IT professional and a casual writer
This entry was posted in bits, hardware, windows. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

