SwitchPort mapper tools

feature-terminal

So here I am again posting about boring computing issues. I don’t care what you think about it, I need to write about it anyway, so I write it here. I understand you may be more interested on the alien stories, but sorry, I’m not having lately the peace of mind necessary to come back to write them. I will, eventually, reach it. The peace of mind. Because I know how to do it. Anyway.

The issue here is to monitor what’s going on in your network. Depending on where you are, you can use one tool or another. For example, at home it is really useful to run Fing (android) to find out what’s your network speed and what you have connected. I’m running it since I found it, and I found it since I have an Android handy. Sorry iPhone guys, I can’t tell you if there is an equivalent tool for you.

Then let’s say you have a small network at work. Let’s say you want to do ssh to different machines, and even scan your network. The best choice by far is mobaXterm for Windows, that gives you control in the free version over 5 computers. You can do ssh and even open graphic apps. If you have a mac, or a linux, you could use a terminal to do the same, the old ssh. Maybe you need to write a script to scan the network, but it will work just fine.

OK, so let’s stop playing around. Is there out there professional tools? There are, of course. Advertised as a Problem Solving Network Tool, you have NetScanTools. The screencaps are looking great, you can get the MAC address, the model and the host name of the devices connected to the network. At this level, I assume you don’t need to ssh, you can simply go to the port and order the guy to give you control over the computer :-). So where is the limit? My colleagues pointed out that the NetScanTools limit the scan to 150 ports (that is not bad). And it doesn’t react very well to complicated networks. I will not comment on price, but there is also NetScanTools Basic may do what you need for free.

The best, from how it looks, seems to be SwitchPortMapper. It looks like these tools you don’t understand what they do, so complicated they are. They support a huge collection of switches, and you can try it for free…

..or you can code your own tool. Can’t you?

EDIT. For very big, international networks you can use observium. Check the screenshots to see how it could look like.

About bitsanddragons

A traveller, an IT professional and a casual writer
This entry was posted in bits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

