Present day

But why am I remembering the past? Why am I living my dreams so vividly? Is it really because my life is empty? Probably I don’t live the best life possible, but it’s a good one. I’m sure a random pioneer will quickly swap his life for mine without any second thought. I have money enough to get what I usually want. I have a lovely house, that could be bigger, but it doesn’t need to. I live in the Highlands. It’s not the Village, but also one of the best settlements. I have unlimited access to our knowledge base, with the best devices available in the market. That means that I have instant access to every movie and every book available to all of us, in the format I want: holographic, classic-3D, 2D, book, audio…you name it. And I use it, intensively. And I know its value, since I had the opportunity to study. Now, with my Corps ID, I can even access to private cyberspaces and the camera databases. If I’m really bored, I can feed my mind with reality.

So where is my problem? Why I feel so unsettled, so frequently? Should I choose to forget, delete my memories, or a part of my knowledge? I could do that. Start again from scratch, with the minimum settings. Ignorance is bliss. I can become an hermit, and find a hole in an abandoned cave. Like a modern-day Diogenes.

I may do it. But right now, I have work to do.

I open my eyes, to find out that she’s still there, sleeping. And she doesn’t look more than a century old, indeed. I shake her, carefully. She turns her head, open her eyes very wide, and smiles to me.

– Any breakfast available? – She says. I nod.

About bitsanddragons

A traveller, an IT professional and a casual writer
This entry was posted in aliens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

